awards Features

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2016 – Shortlist Announced!

evening standard theatre awards

It’s that time of year again when theatres finest come out in force to celebrate the 62nd London Evening Standard Theatre Awards at the Old Vic Theatre. 

It’s been a fantastic year for British theatre that saw Glenn Close return to the stage as reclusive star Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard. Noma Dumezweni dazzled in Linda at the Royal Court, taking over the role with just 2 weeks notice. And J. K. Rowling’s final instalment of a wizard boy named Harry landed at the Palace Theatre. 

The shortlist has been announced and we’ll find out on Sunday 13th November at a glitzy ceremony co-hosted by Sir Elton John who will be taking a gong home. 

The shortlisted nominees are:

Best Actor

Kenneth Branagh The Entertainer (Garrick)

O-T Fagbenle Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre’s, Lyttelton)

Ralph Fiennes The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Richard III (Almeida)

James McArdle Platonov (Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier)

Ian McKellen No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s Theatre)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

 Noma Dumezweni Linda (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)

Helen McCrory The Deep Blue Sea (National Theatre, Lyttelton)

Sophie Melville Iphigenia in Splott (Sherman Cymru/National Theatre/Temporary Theatre)

Billie Piper Yerma (Young Vic)

 Best Musical Performance

Glenn Close  Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)

Andy Karl Groundhog Day (The Old Vic)

Sheridan Smith Funny Girl (Savoy)

Best Play in partnership with Hiscox, Official Arts Partner of the Evening Standard

Father Comes Home from the Wars (Parts 1,2 & 3) By Suzan-Lori Parks (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)

 The Flick by Annie Baker (National Theatre, Dorfman)

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J K Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)                                               

 Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best Musical*

 Funny Girl Menier Chocolate Factory/Savoy

 Groundhog Day Old Vic

 Guys and Dolls Savoy/Phoenix

 Jesus Christ Superstar Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

 Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour National Theatre, Dorfman

 Sunset Boulevard Coliseum

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director

Dominic Cooke Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre, Lyttelton)

John Malkovich Good Canary (Rose Kingston)

John Tiffany Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)

 Best Revival

 Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom National Theatre, Lyttelton (dir Dominic Cooke)

No Man’s Land Wyndham’s (dir Sean Mathias)

Young Chekhov: Platonov, Ivanov & The Seagull Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier                

Les Blancs National Theatre, Olivier (dir Yael Farber)

Best Design

Jon Bausor  You For Me For You (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)

Gareth Fry with Peter Malkin (sound design) The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)

Rob Howell The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Groundhog Day (Old Vic)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

Charlene James CuttinIt (Young Vic/Royal Court/Yard)

Jon Brittain Rotterdam (Theatre503/Trafalgar Studios)

David Ireland Cypress Avenue (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)

Emerging Talent Award in partnership with Burberry

Jaygann Ayeh The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)

Anthony Boyle Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)

Aoife Duffin A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Samuel Beckett Theatre, Dublin & Young Vic)/ The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare’s Globe)

Tyrone Huntley Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

For further information go to

No Comments

Leave a Reply