awards News

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2016 – Winners Announced

evening standard theatre awards

The theatre awards season has well and truly begun, starting with the glitzy Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2016 at a dazzling Old Vic.

Rob Brydon hosted the evenings celebrations with the appearance of Sir Elton John to assist with announcing this years prestigious winners. Awards were also handed out by a host of stars including Tom Hiddleston, Orlando Bloom, Dame Maggie Smith and Kristin Scott Thomas.

With such a turbulent year, British theatre has gone from strength to strength, providing a couple of hours of escapism, where audiences can lose themselves in the theatre magic. It’s times like this we are so SO thankful for our arts, and this evening is a true celebration to recognise and give thanks to the people who transform our worlds and have the ability to move, stir, question, shock, bring joy and unite.

Here are the 2016 winners:

Best Actor

Ralph Fiennes The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Richard III (Almeida)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Billie Piper Yerma (Young Vic)

Best Musical Performance

Glenn Close Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)

Best Play in partnership with Hiscox, Official Arts Partner of the Evening Standard

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J K Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for Best

Jesus Christ Superstar Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director

John Malkovich Good Canary (Rose Kingston)

Best Revival

No Man’s Land Wyndham’s (dir Sean Mathias)

Best Design

Gareth Fry with Peter Malkin (sound design) The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

Charlene James Cuttin’ It (Young Vic/Royal Court/Yard)

Emerging Talent Award in partnership with Burberry

Tyrone Huntley Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

Beyond Theatre Award presented by the Duke of Cambridge

Sir David Attenborough

Editor’s Award

Good Chance Theatre

Lebedev Award

Kenneth Branagh for his Plays at the Garrick season

For further information go to

No Comments

Leave a Reply